Apple Cake sliced

Recipe #6: Apple Cake

So even after the apple sauce I still have a large amount of apples just sitting to go bad. So the hunt for apple recipes continues.

Then suddenly, the apple lord smiled, and I found a recipe that was quite intriguing- Whole wheat, whole spice, and whole fruit: Apple Cake.

Seemed like a loaf of apple bread but the difference is that along with fruit and sugar, this one requires red chili powder. That surely raised my brows. Chili powder in a cake.

Last week, I was in a coffee shop around the corner and on the menu they had “Hot Chocolate with Belgian chocolate and chili.” Well you know that is exactly what I ordered, and thank god I did. It was delicious. First sip you get the taste of the sweet chocolate and once you swallow it, the chili hits you right at the back of your throat. Let me tell you it was the best hot chocolate I have EVER had.

So you can imagine my delight at finding a spicy cake? I couldn’t wait to wrap my taste buds around that one. So I just had to cook this one.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4th cup sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 cups apples diced in small cubes
  • 3 tbs apple sauce (from Recipe #5)
  • ¼ tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder
  • a generous pinch of red chili powder (this is my favorite part)
  • a generous pinch salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Little chilled milk to adjust consistency if required

Directions:

In my recipe#1 I told you how I prefer to beat egg whites and yolks separately. Here too, I have done that.

Separate the whites from the yolks of the 6 eggs. Beat the whites till they are frothy, but not all dry foam as it tends to get when you beat it too much.

Add the yolks to this, then the oil. Whip together to make a smooth batter, then add the sugar and whisk to dissolve.

Mix the flour and spice powders, baking powder and baking soda and salt together .Like we did in the Lemon Cake recipe, sift them at least 3 times to mix all the ingredients properly.

Mix the egg batter and flour, mix together and fold lightly with the help of a sturdy fork or a balloon whisk.

Add the apple cubes and fold them into the batter.

Next the apple sauce bit by bit and fold it into the batter.

The result of smoothly whipping our egg whites first and then adding the yolks, the batter is not lumpy. Otherwise the batter may tend to be lumpy, if it does happen don’t worry. If the ingredients are mixed well, it will still rise perfectly.

Pre heat the oven @ 200 degrees C.

Now line a baking tray or loaf tin with a buttered butter paper and spoon the batter into it. I don’t have a loaf tin, so I just use a regular baking tray.

Use the remaining diced apples and garnish the top. Or if you want feel free to decorate it with sliced apples or however you prefer it.

Baking time would differ with the size of the cake. Bake the cake for about 45-50 minutes. Insert a skewer to test if the cake is done as a standard practice.

Can you smell the delicious aroma? It’s a mix of cinnamon and apple. It’s a sign, the cake is done. Prop it out of the dish using the ends of the butter paper. The apple dices have disappeared into the cake. But once you slice it open, there they are.

Serve the cake warm or cool it. Since it ages gracefully you can even store it for a later day.
It goes well with pretty much everything- tea, coffee, a cup of milk or vanilla ice cream. Or be adventurous and have a bite of the cake without the sides. Enjoy the sweet and the subtle spice.

Happy Cooking.

:D

7 thoughts on “Recipe #6: Apple Cake

  1. your pictures look delicious.
    I tried making this, but you might want to check the content of chili powder
    because I could barely taste it.

    • well a generous pinch could be around say 1/2 tsp of chilli powder.
      and at the same time you can reduce the sugar content to 1/2 cup.
      with those changes in your next attempt I am sure you will get the mix of taste that the recipe promises. :)

    • I am glad you like them. Feel free to try some of them and tell me about them. :)
      or even better, send me some of your favourite recipes. I’ll make sure they are on the table when you come over for dinner. :)

  2. Pingback: Recipe #43: Apple-Prunes-Pineapple a.k.a. Fruity Bread | The Food Gypsy

Your thoughts on this??

